Who are we with being so blessed, to share our stories like this. To speak across centuries. – Ezio Auditore da Firenze, Assassins Creed: Revelations

After reading the syllabus over and over, I still don’t quite know what to write about in this post. I suppose that an introduction is all that is necessary but trying to find 500 to 800 words about yourself that are both witty and interesting can be difficult but I’ll give it my best shot.

I am a 3rd year History student even though I’ve been at the school for 4 years now but I’ll explain that in a second. As some of you know, I turned 22 yesterday and was happy enough to get Assassins Creed 3 which will now ruin my attempts to excel this term but I suppose, C’est la vie.

In September 2009, I was about to begin the first year of my 5 Year Honours Co-op Bachelor of Computer Science program. I had no reservations that I was going to be a Computer Scientist, graduate with honours and go on to work for Google, EA, or Microsoft and never look back. As is customary with life, things didn’t go as planned.

In the summer of 2011, I was nearly a term behind in my program, skipping nearly every lecture of my core Math and Computer Science courses and lost in terms of where to go next. After talking to a number of people close to me and former professors, I realized that the only reason that I was going to class at all was because I enjoyed my History courses so much. The decision came that at the end of my tumultuous term I would switch into the Faculty of Arts and make my former minor, my major and with that move I became a History student.

With my background in Computer Science, Digital History sounded like a course that would allow me to take my two fields of expertise and create a sort of bridge between the two.

As someone could/can code better than the majority of the population, I find myself interested in what sort of programs we can create that can help historians with their research or other methods. There is an endless world of software that many historians have yet to take advantage of and so I find it really important to equip myself with these tools.

I fine the idea of using video games as a medium for either inspiring historical thought or for teaching about specific sports topics to be particularly interesting. I have spent a considerable amount of hours playing the Civilization, Assassins Creed and other series that put a particular emphasis on historical thought. I have recently begun playing AC 3 for the first time and am paying particular attention to the historical accuracy and integration into the story line. In a way, I might find this topic so interesting because of how many hours I attempted to recreate the confusing timeline of the Legend of Zelda series but that’s a nerdy tale for another day.

I hope this posts give a little insight into my thoughts and at the same time doesn’t make EVERYONE think I’m a huge nerd.

