Hi everyone!

I’m kind of not sure what exactly we are supposed to write in this post, but, after looking at the rest of your posts, I figure I’ll just ramble a bit about myself and see what happens. Anyways, my name is Corey and I’m a 4th year History major. Well, I should say, rather, that this is my 4th year at this school. I’m not sure exactly what term I am technically in according to Quest as I made the decision to reduce my course load to 4 per term and take an extra year to finish my degree for the sake of my own sanity since I was struggling. So the term numbers in Quest get a little messed up.

Enough about that, though. I’m the guy who’s always wearing the sweatpants and zippered hoodies with the Whistler hat that often is late to class. If you haven’t figured out by now, given when I’m making this post, I’m more than a bit of a procrastinator. Since this is my first class of the day, I tend to end up being late no matter what I do to try and be on time.

Another thing you might notice is that I’m being very conversational here with my writing. That’s normal for me as I write how I talk. The reason for that being that I’m currently talking out everything I say before I actually write it. It’s just how my brain works. I’m not much of a written word person, being much more of a talker. I know that’s a weird trait for a History major, but oh well.

So why am I taking this course? Well, in short, I’m a History major, this is a History course and it looked fun, simple as that.

But, to elaborate a little more, I’m a huge computer and tech person. For pretty much my whole life I’ve loved computers, technology and, later, the Internet and, not to brag or anything, but I’ve also been very good with them. I have the ability to sit down with a new piece of technology, play around with it for a while and know how to work it. I am very knowledgeable when it comes to computers, technology and the Internet and nearly all of it is self taught simply by playing around. I’ve lived a fair portion of my life online and love using the internet for pretty much anything I can. So, a course called “Digital History” is right up my alley and exactly the type of thing I would want to take.

Another big interest of mine and something I’m very active in is protecting the potential of the Internet and pushing for the digital age to be all it can be. This means I tend to have issues with things like copyright law and the whole push by the entertainment industries to protect their “intellectual properties” at all costs. I am hugely active in the push against laws like SOPA in the US and Bill C-32 and Lawful Access here in Canada that try to limit and lock down the potential of the Digital Age and keep content and knowledge locked down for, effectively, forever instead of free, the way it should be. I’ll get more into that during the copyright part of the course, though.

Other things about me. Well, I’m a nerd and proud of it, be it a tech nerd, video game nerd, you name it. I’m also involved in theatre, being a part of the amateur theatre group here on campus called FASS (which, by the way, you should all come see the show we are putting on February 7-9). I’m no actor, but rather prefer to be behind the scenes operating the lights, spotlights, moving props and sets and things like that.

For one last random detail about me, I still watch Power Rangers (yes, it is still running with new episodes and seasons), as well as its Japanese counterpart/source material, Super Sentai and know a lot about the shows. I even did a speech about it for one of my courses last year.Well, that’s enough rambling for now. I’m looking forward to the rest of this course and to getting to know all of you.

