Entering the class, I was not a big fan of coding. I often found it to be bland, and it certainly wasn’t one of my strengths. After using python, my overall view was that it can be a useful tool for historians to use. One thing that I have noticed about Python is the code volume; you can get a lot more done with little code on python as opposed to other programs I have used in the past. This is where the speed of a computer comes into play. A few lines of Python code allowed me to sort out articles of information at a much faster clip than if I would have done it myself.

Programming Historian was also a very user friendly tool that allowed me to ease into coding. For someone who knows very little about coding, I was able to pick things up fair quickly. Again, this all goes back to time saving. Historians usually spend vast amounts of time digging through archives, which to some may be enjoyable; however, for the common Historian, using a program such as Python saves a great deal of time, and really narrows down the search for you through a few lines of code. The beautiful thing about Python is that you can manipulate the code to suit what you are specifically looking for in Python’s large library of information. As more and more collections become digitized, the use for programs such as Python become more and more relevant in the world of digital history.

What I did find frustrating however was when errors popped up. As a first time coder, I often made typos in the code, thus causing errors to occur. There were some occasions where i double and triple checked to make sure my line of code was correct, but again there would be errors that occurred. For this type of a problem, I did not know where to turn or what to fix, which again often frustrated me. As I progressed from lesson to lesson, coding became more complex, thus forcing me to write more lines of code for little information; the level of efficiency went down as it took longer to write lines of code, the harder the lessons became.

