Going into the course, I was optimistic about the merger of history and digital media. I thought that it was a good idea for historians to embrace technology and utilize it to analyze, store, and record data.

After having learned about things like the Digital Archives, the 9/11 Archive, Hurricane Digital Memory Bank, programming historian, Audacity, and Sketch-up, amongst many others, I believe my original opinion stays the same. The fact that there are so many different online history resources, proves that history has already taken the first step in going digital. The next step is the spread of this digital knowledge among all historians. Programming Historian is an excellent tool to acquaint even beginners with the versatile programming language Python. So there is really no excuse for historians not to take advantage of these tools.

Another thing I’ve learned from this class, is that history is also happening right now; and because we were born into a digital generation, we have a lot more ways to record our own history. We can make video series on youtube, podcasts, discuss things in open online forums, and store the data we produce digitally and freely available to everyone. By producing content, we leave behind the history of ourselves because once something is uploaded to the internet, it is usually very hard to completely remove it.

Overall, I enjoyed this course. I think one of my favorite things was the 3D Printer presentation. Its a really cool way to bring history into a physical form. I hope old-school historians will overcome their doubt about going digital, and embrace it.

